America On Fire

Last Monday, people the world over watched the video of a man, we now know to be George Floyd, dying at the hands of 4 police officers.

One week later, we see curfews imposed and the National Guard called in many states, after widespread rioting, looting and arson.

Whilst Mr. Floyds may have been the match that lit a powder keg of events currently unfolding, it hardly seems unlikely that it is the sole reason behind it.



“A new day has dawned…”

Last night President Ramaphosa announced changes to the National Executive.

Here are the new ministers:

  • Communications: Ms Nomvula Mokonyane
  • Energy: Mr Jeff Radebe
  • Higher Education and Training: Ms Naledi Pandor
  • Home Affairs: Mr Malusi Gigaba
  • Human Settlements: Ms Nomaindia Mfeketo
  • International Relations and Cooperation: Ms Lindiwe Sisulu
  • Mineral Resources: Mr Gwede Mantashe – Mr Mantashe
  • Police: Mr Bheki Cele
  • Public Enterprises: Mr Pravin Gordhan – Mr Gordhan
  • Public Service and Administration: Ms Ayanda Dlodlo
  • Public Works: Mr Thulas Nxesi
  • Rural Development and Land Reform: Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
  • Science and Technology: Ms Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane
  • Social Development: Ms Susan Shabangu
  • Sport and Recreation: Ms Tokozile Xasa
  • State Security: Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
  • The Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma – Dr Dlamini-Zuma
  • The Presidency: Women: Ms Bathabile Dlamini
  • Tourism: Mr Derek Hanekom
  • Transport: Dr Blade Nzimande
  • Water and Sanitation: Mr Gugile Nkwinti

There has also been some changes regarding the Deputy Ministers: 

  • Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Mr Sfiso Buthelezi
  • Communications: Ms Pinky Kekana
  • Finance: Mr Mondli Gungubele
  • Public Service and Administration: Dr Chana Pilane-Majeke
  • Small Business Development: Mr Cassel Mathale

Further appointments:

  • Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsDr Zweli Mkhize is the former treasurer general of the ANC.
  • Minister of Finance: Mr Nhlanhla Nene
  • Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Ms Reginah Mhaule

The positions of Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises and Deputy Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation will remain vacant.

And last but certainly not least…
Mr David Mabuza will be the the Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa, once sworn-in as Member of the National Assembly.

Ministers who will not remain in cabinet:

  • Lynne Brown (public enterprises)
  • Bongani Bongo (state security)
  • David Mahlobo (energy)
  • Joe Maswanganyi (transport)
  • Fikile Mbalula (police)
  • Hlengiwe Mkhize (higher education)
  • Faith Muthambi (public service and administration)
  • Nkosinathi Nhleko (public works)
  • Des van Rooyen (cooperative governance and traditional affairs)
  • Mosebenzi Zwane (mineral resources)